Professor Filippo Mangolini, assistant professor in the Texas Materials Institute and Walker Department of Mechanical Engineering, has been selected to receive a Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) Award from the National Science Foundation (NSF).This award is the most prestigious honor offered by NSF’s CAREER Program and provides up to five years of funding to junior faculty members who exemplify the role of teacher-scholar through outstanding research, excellent education, and the integration of education and research within the context of their organizations’ missions.

Guihua Yu, associate professor of materials science and mechanical engineering in the Cockrell School of Engineering at The University of Texas at Austin, is the recipient of the 2021 Edith and Peter O’Donnell Award in Engineering from TAMEST (The Academy of Medicine, Engineering and Science of Texas).

Youhong (Nancy) Guo, a materials science and engineering graduate student in Texas Materials Institute at UT Austin, received the prestigious MRS Graduate Student Award for best materials science graduate research at the 2020 Materials Research Society (MRS) Fall Meeting.

Texas Materials Institute Facility Manager, Raluca Gearba-Dolocan, has been awarded a Cockrell School 2020 Staff Excellence Award.

Materials Science and Engineering faculty, Filippo Mangolini, has been awarded the Cockrell School Dean's Award for Outstanding Engineering Teaching by an Assistant Professor. This award recognizes outstanding performance by an Assistant Professor and aims to promote exceptional teaching early in a faculty memebers career. 

We would like to congratulate TMI postdoctoral scholar, Sanjay Nanda, for winning a Best Presentation Award at this year's MRS Fall virtual meeting.

Technology developed by researchers in the Cockrell School of Engineering will help soldiers stationed in some of the driest places on Earth get access to clean drinking water.

Catching deadly diseases like cancer early on is key to improving patient survival odds. However, diseases are much harder to diagnose in their preliminary stages because people often haven't developed symptoms yet and only trace amounts can be found in their bodies.

The International Battery Association (IBA) recognized Professor John B. Goodenough for receiving the 2020 IBA Medal of Excellence and Professor Arumugam Manthiram for receiving the 2020 IBA Research Award.

John B. Goodenough's Nobel journey, commercializing breakthroughs, plus a sneak peek inside our newest building – read the stories of our materials engineers in the newest issue of Texas Engineer Magazine!