TMI Seminar Series: Elsa Reichmanis, Ph.D.

Dr. Elsa Reichmanis is a faculty member in the School of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering of the Georgia Institute of Technology. Prior to joining Georgia Tech she was Bell Labs Fellow and Director of the Materials Research Department at Bell Labs, Alcatel-Lucent. She received her Ph. D. and BS degrees in chemistry from Syracuse University. In 1984, she was promoted to Supervisor of the Radiation Sensitive Materials and Application Group, followed by promotion to Head of the Polymer and Organic Materials Research Department in 1994. Her research interests include the chemistry, properties and application of materials technologies for photonic and electronic applications, with particular focus on polymeric and nanostructured materials for advanced technologies.

Elsa Reichmanis was elected to the National Academy of Engineering in 1995 and has participated in several National Research Council (NRC) activities. She currently serves as a member of the NSF Math and Physical Sciences Advisory Committee, recently served as co-chair of the NRC Board on Chemical Sciences and Technology, and was a member of the Visiting Committee on Advanced Technology of the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST). She is an elected member of the Bureau of the International Union for Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC). She has been active in the American Chemical Society throughout her career, having served as 2003 President of the Society. In other technical activities, she served as a member of the Air Force Scientific Advisory Board.

Elsa Reichmanis is the recipient of several awards, including named university lectureships. She was presented with the 1993 Society of Women Engineers Achievement Award and in 1995, was named Bell Laboratories Fellow. She is the 1996 recipient of the ASM Engineering Materials Achievement Award, she was elected Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science in 1998, and was awarded the ACS Award in Applied Polymer Science in 1999. In 2001, she was the recipient of the Society of Chemical Industry’s Perkin Medal and the Arents Medal from Syracuse University. In 2002, she was elected Fellow of the Polymer Materials Division of the American Chemical Society and in 2003 she was the recipient of the first Braude Award from the ACS Maryland local section. In 2004 she was elected as a Foreign Member of the Latvian Academy of Sciences, in 2005 was named Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry, and was named ACS Fellow in 2009. She is also a member of the Materials Research Society, and is associate editor of the ACS Journal, Chemistry of Materials.

To read Dr. Reichmanis’s full biography and more on her research, please see her website here.