Dr. Deji Akinwande Honored as Extraordinary Early-Career Scientist by President Obama

Deji 1The MS&E program is proud to announce that MS&E faculty member Dr. Deji Akinwande is to be awarded the highest honor bestowed by the United States Government on science and engineering professionals in the early stages of their independent research careers, the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE), according to an official press release from the White House just this past weekend.

“President Obama today named 105 researchers as recipients of the Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers, the highest honor bestowed by the United States Government on science and engineering professionals in the early stages of their independent research careers. The winners will receive their awards at a Washington, DC ceremony this spring.

“These early-career scientists are leading the way in our efforts to confront and understand challenges from climate change to our health and wellness,” President Obama said. “We congratulate these accomplished individuals and encourage them to continue to serve as an example of the incredible promise and ingenuity of the American people.”

The Presidential Early Career Awards highlight the key role that the Administration places in encouraging and accelerating American innovation to grow our economy and tackle our greatest challenges. This year’s recipients are employed or funded by the following departments and agencies: Department of Agriculture, Department of Commerce, Department of Defense, Department of Education, Department of Energy, Department of Health and Human Services, Department of the Interior, Department of Veterans Affairs, Environmental Protection Agency, National Aeronautics and Space Administration, National Science Foundation, and the Intelligence Community. These departments and agencies join together annually to nominate the most meritorious scientists and engineers whose early accomplishments show the greatest promise for assuring America’s preeminence in science and engineering and contributing to the awarding agencies’ missions.

The awards, established by President Clinton in 1996, are coordinated by the Office of Science and Technology Policy within the Executive Office of the President. Awardees are selected for their pursuit of innovative research at the frontiers of science and technology and their commitment to community service as demonstrated through scientific leadership, public education, or community outreach.”

Dr. Akinwande and his nano research group conduct basic and applied research on the frontier of nano materials, flexible nanoelectronics, bioelectronics, RF integrated circuits, and electromagnetic.  His passion lies in the discovery and application of new paradigms to enable novel ubiquitous systems that address societal needs.

Dr. Akinwande received a Ph.D in Electrical Engineering from Stanford University in December 2009. Previously, he graduated with a B.S/M.S. combined degree in Electrical Engineering and Applied Physics from Case Western Reserve University. His Ph.D thesis focused on the physics, chemistry, materials and electronic properties of carbon materials. He gained industry experience designing and testing analog circuits from MHz to 110 GHz for network analyzer and signal generator instruments at Agilent Technologies in California. He subsequently worked at XtremeSpectrum, Freescale and Motorola on the modeling, design and testing of the first commercial 100 Mb/s ultra-wideband receiver chip.  He is also a member of IEEE, APS, ACS, and MRS societies.

You can read the full press release here.

More information on Dr. Akinwande’s research group can be found here.